Very More-ish Granola

I love breakfast. In another life, I used to put effort into breakfast every morning. There would be eggs cooking, bacon sizzling, haloumi grilling, mushrooms, spinach, rocket, smoked salmon, blistered cherry tomatoes. Most of the time, I would be cooking breakfast, eating it, and getting dressed and done up for work simultaneously. I just loved the feeling of starting my day with a wholesome, nutritious meal. And then off I toddled to work all spritely.

Nowadays, I’m not too sure when breakfast is actually meant to be. Ashley is cutting her top teeth at the moment, so I’ve been up at 1am, then 3am, then 5am, then 6am, then 7am. All of these times I’ve been so hungry and could so go some bacon and eggs, but I’m not too sure if singing, dancing, rubbing Bonjela, injecting Panadol, and making a cooked breakfast simultaneously is really my thing. Often when she is asleep for her morning nap, I just can’t be bothered. But I refuse to mindlessly eat just anything. So, I have been hooked on granola, greek yoghurt, and fresh berries. The beauty of this is that it takes only a couple of minutes to put together and it hits the spot every time.

Granola

There is only one word to describe this granola – YUM. It can be eaten on it’s own, and it is one of those foods where it’s difficult to just stop picking at it. You can whip it up quickly in one bowl, and you get a decent sized batch. I generally don’t bother to measure out my ingredients precisely for this recipe, I vary it each time, and it always turns out great.

Very More-ish Granola (Gluten Free, Paleo)

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of chopped almonds (slithered and sliced almonds also work well)
  • 1/2 cup of pecans chopped up roughly (you can also use walnuts, cashews, pistachios)
  • 1/3 cup of mixed sunflower and pumpkin seeds
  • 1/3 cup of moist coconut flakes
  • 3/4 cup of dried cranberries
  • 2 heaped tablespoons of raw honey that’s runny in consistency
  • 2 tablespoons of macadamia nut oil (or coconut oil, melted)
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons of cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon of salt

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 125 degrees celcius.
  2. Combine all of the ingredients into a bowl and mix well.
  3. Transfer the mix onto a lined tray and bake for approx 15 to 20 minutes, or until the nuts look nice and golden. You will need to stir the mixture occasionally, otherwise it will burn.
  4. Cool completely before eating.

Enjoy and let me know what you think!

Leave a comment